Our Diocese

The Diocese of Gaylord is one of seven Roman Catholic Dioceses in the state of Michigan. It was established on July 20, 1971 by his Holiness Pope Paul VI.

The 11,171 square miles of the diocese is comprised of territory which had previously been a part of the Saginaw and Grand Rapids dioceses. The area includes the 21 most northern counties of Michigan’s lower peninsula, which are mostly rural in nature. Total population of the area exceeds 505,000, of which more than 66,000 are Catholics.

Within its boundaries there are 77 parishes, 17 Catholic schools and many closely related institutions. All of our clergy, religious sisters and brothers, and laity have been called through Baptism to be disciples and to reflect the message of the Gospel.

We welcome your visit to the Diocese of Gaylord through our website, but especially in person, and we stand ready to minister to your needs as best we can.

Diocese of Gaylord